top of page
Search
  • lyndarimke

Dead and stuck, yet hopeful

THURSDAY, MAY 11, 2006 I am experiencing both encouragement and discouragement. I am encouraged because it is spring, and I can once again paint outside. I am discouraged because two works did not make the Artists of Rubber City show. This is the second total rejection in a row, and half the entries got in. How can I not feel a bit deflated?


I now have a total of four Friday paintings not finished since LaVerne in February. That's a lot of 5-dollar-bills towards starts without finishes! I've resolved to sit out the next model and get cracking on Saubra, Patrick, John and Elaine.


I did finish three paintings that capture the mood of the season. I am feeling quite dead and stuck, yet hopeful. Maybe that is why I have found solace painting graveyards fringed by spring growth. (Love and hate working with the sponge...)


These scenes reflect both an emotional and spiritual place in my life.


Am I simply hungering for "life in all its fullness"?


"I am come that they might have life,

and that they might have it in all its fullness."


—Jesus

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2015 by Lynda Rimke. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Google+ App Icon
bottom of page