top of page
Search
  • lyndarimke

A window of serenity

SUNDAY, JULY 09, 2006

I painted this on Thursday afternoon, July 6th and was able to call Mom just before she was prepped for exploratory surgery.


"Mom," I said, "I'll have a painting for you when you come out of surgery... something to look forward to."


The timing of one of my best paintings on one of my Mom's worst days is a comfort to me. The lump was not on her colon as we expected, but a tumor on her ovary.


We all are in need of peaceful scenery... something to focus on other than the horrors of possible cancer.


A window of serenity.


Three days later, after her surgeon had been so sure it was ovarian cancer and had even made her say "The C word", the tests came back negative!


Aho.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2015 by Lynda Rimke. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Google+ App Icon
bottom of page